Making in May

So, what has the month of May brought me and my artistic pursuits…

I have been busy making some new lino cuts after last month’s master class with Sarah. May has seen a moonlit pheasant and a jackdaw print.

This jackdaw was spotted at the edge of Duddingston Loch where I sat for a while making drawings of these characterful birds – a kestrel hovered on the hill behind me and I could clearly hear a chiff chaff not far away from me (alas it remained elusive this time!). I was pleased to include a flowering nettle and dock leaf in the design.

I also spent a happy day making some monoprints – chaffinches were the subject matter this time – the variety of colours you get on the male chaffinch is really amazing, and they are such a common bird we are all guilty of not looking at them!

I enjoyed visiting the Union Gallery in Edinburgh to see some of Janet Melrose’s work – I’ve come across her work a number of times and I love her use of colour, soft surface quality and poetic glimpses of nature. Paul and I also spent a sunny Sunday wandering down to Edinburgh’s Royal Botanic Gardens and happened upon a fantastic exhibition based around the idea of ‘Locating the Nest’– I particularly liked the lino cuts of Hugh Bryden.

I had a fantastic afternoon among the gorse on Arthur’s Seat with Amelia Smith of Little Red jewellery. Amelia has taken scraps of my cast off screen prints and transformed them into beautiful pieces of handmade resin jewellery – it was good fun playing about with how best to photograph them.

The Little Red collaboration has been made in time for my stint as maker of the month at Concrete Wardrobe in Edinburgh – the work is up and I’m very pleased with the window display!

About flyingcreature

I'm a Cumbrian born painter and printmaker based in Scotland. My work is inspired by British nature. I studied on the Foundation Course at Leith School of Art in 2003 before going on to take the MA Fine Art degree at Edinburgh College of Art and Edinburgh University graduating in 2008. I now make my work from my studio in Coburg House and teach drawing, painting and printmaking at Leith School of Art and around Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making in May

  1. Leo du Feu says:

    Snappy title, nice linocuts and you’ve really captured the colour of the breast of Mr Chaffinch.

    I passed the window of Concrete Wardrobe on Tuesday evening and can affirm that it looks great.

  2. Kit Leffler says:

    Things are looking excellent friend! Really like the lino of the nest. x kit

Leave a Reply

