Further June japes

So, although the main memory of the sea bird drawing week will be the gannets I did manage to get a few other bird drawings done in amongst a lifeboat rescue, a downpour and the purchasing of a new pair of binoculars…

St Abbs – fantastic breathtaking sea cliffs with sea stacks containing colonies of guillemots, razorbills, shags, kittiwakes and fulmars. The first day we arrived late due to having to be rescued from the island of Fidra by lifeboat! So I only managed a brief bit of drawing and felt overwhelmed by the volume of birds and their distance from me in stark contrast to the gannet colony the day before.

Image

Razorbills on the stacks at St Abbs Head – charcoal on paper

Image

Those lovely Razorbills again – the inside of their mouths is a golden yellow colour. Must try to capture that sometime.

Returned the next day for a showery morning at St Abbs – I did this drawing during a fairly torrential downpour!

 Image

Rainy St Abbs – pencil and rain on paper

And finally, the last day spent at a favourite haunt of mine, Aberlady Bay. I managed to get a couple of paintings done – I was delighted when the shelducks arrived – they are just made to be painted!

Image

Shelduck, Oystercatcher and Black Headed Gulls, Aberlady Bay, Gouache on paper 

Many thanks to John Busby, Greg Poole, Darren Woodhead, John Threlfall and Mark Boyd for organising and running the course so well, and to all my fellow students who were a great mix of people – very welcoming and great to come across so much knowledge and enthusiasm for art and birds.  

 

About flyingcreature

I'm a Cumbrian born painter and printmaker based in Scotland. My work is inspired by British nature. I studied on the Foundation Course at Leith School of Art in 2003 before going on to take the MA Fine Art degree at Edinburgh College of Art and Edinburgh University graduating in 2008. I now make my work from my studio in Coburg House and teach drawing, painting and printmaking at Leith School of Art and around Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

