The Charm of Chaffinches

I’ve been working on a few pieces recently inspired by chaffinches which has given me time to think about these beautiful birds. It is actually quite hard to find artists who have depicted chaffinches in their work but by coincidence three of my favourite artists have, and here they are for you to enjoy:

Image

Beautiful drawing of a Tenerife Chaffinch by the wonderful twentieth century birder and artist, Eric Ennion.

Image

Chaffinches by Mary Fedden (thank you one pinkgoose.blogspot)

 

Image

Fantastic camouflaged chaffinch in Early Blossom by Matt Underwood, Japanese Woodblock print

And some of my recent attempts:

Image

Chaffinch in Ivy study – Watercolour and Gouache

Image

Island Chaffinches Screen print (Slightly Cropped)

Image

Chaffinch Tree painting (Gouache on paper) Still in progress but hopefully nearly there…

The three chaffinch works I’ve posted here are quite different in feel but hopefully all of them capture something of the charm of these birds. 

About flyingcreature

I'm a Cumbrian born painter and printmaker based in Scotland. My work is inspired by British nature. I studied on the Foundation Course at Leith School of Art in 2003 before going on to take the MA Fine Art degree at Edinburgh College of Art and Edinburgh University graduating in 2008. I now make my work from my studio in Coburg House and teach drawing, painting and printmaking at Leith School of Art and around Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Charm of Chaffinches

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks Kittie – I love chaffinches too and all of the images capture different senses of these charming creatures.

  2. Leo du Feu says:

    Brilliant. And nice to see such variety. I especially love your chaffinch in ivy. I remember the first time I PROPERLY noticed that rich and unusual earthy foresty green on the back of a male, lit by the sun. Only really visible when he starts to open his wings. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

