Avian April

I am busy trying to transcribe the talk I presented to the Friends of Leith School of Art entitled Birds in Art: Medieval Manuscripts to Flying Creatures for this blog. However, progress is slow so in the meantime I thought I would post up some images of recent work for you to enjoy.

Moorhen Screen print web

long tailed tit screen print web

A couple of my new British Bird Screen prints. I love Moorhens – they are such surprising birds. These ones were originally drawn at Linlithgow Loch.

And the lovely long-tailed tit, this print was inspired by seeing long-tailed tits swinging about high up in the trees when I was walking along the Water of Leith walkway on my way to the studio.

Islay Hare Monotype 2 web

And a non ‘flying creature’ this time – the same Islay Hare as seen in my gouache painting  but this time a monotype print.

short eared owl mono smallThis monotype depicts the striking short eared owl seen at Dunbar eighteen months ago. I was really pleased to be able to get a strong image that reflected the intensity of the experience which I wrote about on this blog at the time. 

shelduck web

And finally for now, my latest screen print shows a magnificent Shelduck. Inspired by the en plein air painting I made during the Seabird Drawing Course last summer the print also contains a couple of black headed gulls and some samphire plants in the foreground.

About flyingcreature

I'm a Cumbrian born painter and printmaker based in Scotland. My work is inspired by British nature. I studied on the Foundation Course at Leith School of Art in 2003 before going on to take the MA Fine Art degree at Edinburgh College of Art and Edinburgh University graduating in 2008. I now make my work from my studio in Coburg House and teach drawing, painting and printmaking at Leith School of Art and around Scotland.
This entry was posted in Birds, My Work, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Avian April

  1. Amanda says:

    Kittie – your blog is a joyous place to be! I LOVE IT! So glad to have seen you this evening and now I know you have a blog I will be a very frequent visitor! Your work is just beautiful – I love it all!

Leave a Reply

