Drawing Development

Image
Summer Isles Cormorant, Charcoal and chalk on paper

Anyone familiar with this blog will know how much I enjoy documenting my process and sharing it. I’ve done this with my print process and now I thought I would show you one of my recent drawings as it developed. I can become quite obsessive about taking photos at all stages of a drawing and this piece went through a number of stages. Working in charcoal means you can change things right up to the last minute. When I’m making drawings in the studio I also have the freedom to engage my imagination more vigorously which inevitably means changes along the way. William Kentridge, a fantastic South African draughtsman, puts it brilliantly in this quote:

‘Drawing…is about fluidity. There may be a vague sense of what you’re going to draw but things occur during the process that may modify, consolidate or shed doubts on what you know. So drawing is a testing of ideas; a slow motion version of thought. It does not arrive instantly like a photograph. The uncertain and imprecise way of constructing a drawing is sometimes a model of how to construct meaning. What ends in clarity does not begin that way.’

Below are a series of images which show the lead up to completing my drawing, Summer Isles Cormorant. It is the biggest drawing I have worked on for a while and will be heading to Ullapool with me this week – enjoy!

Definitely not enough room here so I decided to stick an extra bit of paper on the end to allow the bird to stretch out!Image

A suggestion of a horizon becomes…

Image

A remembered view of the mainland from Tanera Mor…Image

Night time descends…
Image

Day returns and the land disappears…
Image

A swift change of proportion…
Image

Some colour…

Image

Softened plumage…

Image

And the finished version again…

Image

About flyingcreature

I'm a Cumbrian born painter and printmaker based in Scotland. My work is inspired by British nature. I studied on the Foundation Course at Leith School of Art in 2003 before going on to take the MA Fine Art degree at Edinburgh College of Art and Edinburgh University graduating in 2008. I now make my work from my studio in Coburg House and teach drawing, painting and printmaking at Leith School of Art and around Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drawing Development

  1. elizabeth wilson says:

    Wonderful process Kittie – thank you

Leave a Reply

