The Living Goldcrest

As promised this post is about a goldcrest which is very much alive and bursting with colour – my latest addition to the British Birds screen print series in fact! Here is a photo essay of the making of the print.

First, working from sketches, I draw out the design:

Image

Working with coloured pencils, I attempt to separate the colours into disctinctive layers:

Image

I hand draw each separate colour layer in black on tracing paper using the original as a map. Here I have roughly lined each layer up, in the order I intend to print them, to give me an idea of how all the layers work together:

Image

At the workshop I prepare my screen by exposing the layers photographically to create open stencils on the mesh (I’ll have to explain that another time as I didn’t take any photos of this bit). Then I mix my first colour using Lascaux acrylic paint and screen paste (which extends the drying time):

Image

The screen gets attached to the bed, the squeegee is chosen, the ink is laid at the top of the stencil ready to be squeegee’d:

Image

Each colour is printed onto a sheet of acetate, taped into place on the bed, before starting to print the edition. This ensures that the layer is printed in the same place on the paper each time – VERY IMPORTANT!:

Image

And the first layer is complete, about thirty separate sheets of hand torn paper now contain the yellow layer. I constantly refer back to my drawing to ensure the colours are in keeping with the original idea:

Image

The second layer is a transparent pinky colour, it looks strong at the moment but as other colours are added they should balance it out:

Image

Here I am using the registration sheet to ensure the third layer, lime green, is printed in the right place:

Image

Once the paper is in the right place, the registration sheet is flicked back and I can put the screen down and print onto each sheet of paper:

Image

Next its time to mix the blue for the fourth layer, you can see the bit of paper in this shot where I test how the colours work together and their transparency levels:

Image

At this stage its getting quite exciting because I may almost be finished (sometimes when all the layers are printed the image doesn’t work and I have to make a few more layers to print), here is the print with five out of six layers printed:

Image

And here it is – the final print, 26 copies of it succesfully printed – phew!Image

Have a listen to this Tweet of the Day to hear the sound of this beautiful bird: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03bkh4k

About flyingcreature

I'm a Cumbrian born painter and printmaker based in Scotland. My work is inspired by British nature. I studied on the Foundation Course at Leith School of Art in 2003 before going on to take the MA Fine Art degree at Edinburgh College of Art and Edinburgh University graduating in 2008. I now make my work from my studio in Coburg House and teach drawing, painting and printmaking at Leith School of Art and around Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

